This game isn't scary even though it's supposed to be a horror game

LittleCoconut
LittleCoconut Member Posts: 11
edited May 2020 in General Discussions

The only time I've been scared of this game was when first I started playing, but I grew out of it really fast. Nowadays the game is more funny than scary, even the chases look comical when the survivor and the killer are looping around a wood plank. I think the first step to make this game scarier would be to change the boring chase music most killers have, it's really not thrilling at all. You could also make the heartbeat music more thrilling. This game has to be scarier since now it really doesn't own up to the PEGI18 age restriction at all. What do you think?

Comments

• LittleCoconut

But DBD could be so much more scarier. You will always feel tense when playing games like Resident Evil, Amnesia or Outlast but DBD loses its scariness way too quickly. It's a bad sign when a horror game is more comical than scary. This game has potential, they should buff the horror side of this game up to make this game if not more scary then just more tense.

• Aven_Fallen
    Aven_Fallen Member Posts: 16,089

"You will always feel tense when playing games like Resident Evil, Amnesia or Outlast but DBD loses its scariness way too quickly."

While I agree that Outlast and Amnesia were scary (btw there will be a new Amnesia later this year, I am hyped), how long were those games? 10 hours each?

Play them 5 times and then tell me they are still scary. This would be 50 hours of DBD. Surely a game will not be scary after playing it for a long time.

• White_Owl
    White_Owl Member Posts: 3,786
    edited May 2020

I'm pretty sure most of the new players are scared or at least thrilled. But after dozens, or hundreds of hours of exposure the scare factor is inevitably lost. It's not a problem with the game.

• MegMain98
    MegMain98 Member Posts: 2,913