This game is an abusive relationship and I don't know if I have the strength to leave it

Options
A_Can_Of_Air
A_Can_Of_Air Member Posts: 2,015
edited April 2021 in General Discussions

Been here since Winter 2017.

The recent chapter and what has followed...I'm drained, mentally and emotionally.

I love the gameplay, I like coming to the forums to discuss the game, I love the atmosphere, the visual design of the realms, the characters and their lore...

I hate the community, it's toxic and vile, there seems to be very few genuine good people out there. Maybe I'm generalising, but it's how I feel. The toxicity has not changed one single bit since I started playing, and it will not stop until the game is down.

I feel like the developers don't care about me, only my money, which I stopped giving them last October. They may care, but it does not feel like it. It doesn't feel like they are truly trying to combat toxicity, or shake up the meta, or make changes fast enough to keep people around. Killers do not feel as original as they used to. A new Killer comes out and it's usually a spin on an existing one with possibly a small unique twist (torment cages, multiple controllable bodies).

I'm worn out, I want to leave but I can't, because the gameplay is addictive. The game can be fun, but it can also be so draining. Dealing with toxic players is draining, to the point where every toxic player is basically just the same person. That toxic player I met today is no different to the toxic player I met back in December 2017. It's the same thing today, it'll be the same tomorrow and then the next day, and the next.

I'm tired. Will I leave today? Maybe, I don't know. I do have other games, but I always find myself crawling back. The spike in recent toxicity and disappointment in lack of new, meaningful gameplay is pushing me away and I hope it works this time. I really, really want to find something else to escape to.