I HATE flashlights...

Options

I know I know, another "I hate flashlights" post. But I need to vent. You can flame me in the replies if you want, but please just let me rant.

I'm new to killer, (after playing the game as survivor for a little over three months). I'm not good at it, but I'm learning and I'm having much more fun as killer than I did as survivor when I'm not against really good survivors or a swf.

Anyway, I'm still learning a lot of ins and outs of the game. Which map offerings take me where, the layouts, gen pressure etc. I have lost count of the number of times I get turned around on RPD and The Meat Packing Plant, blah blah, blah. Preamble out of the way.

I hate flashlights, well not so much the mechanic itself. I just hate how spamable and easily abused it is and how the killer can be pre-stunned midway through performing an action, like picking up a survivor or breaking a pallet. This is especially evil on open maps, when you can't look anywhere, up or down because you get immediately -locked into a direction.

I literally came from a game where all four survivors were a very obvious swf, as they were swarming gens, swarming downed survivors, swarming pallets, swarming hooks to body block. Pretty much doing anything but gens. At one point I was stunlocked with three or four flashlights. I. Could. Not. Move. I was literally being blinded from angles that shouldn't have because two of the survivors were behind me in my peripheral vision, which really shouldn't count, but for some reason it does.

Honestly, I don't know what the devs could do to stop the abuse of flashlights. But I do think they should make a change so only one flashlight at a time can stun a killer and only from the front, not the side or behind.

Anyway, I know what I said above, but I have a couple of suggestions about how to deal with the ability to rapidly click the flashlight on and off or even during a flashlight save.