How to take off the Spine Chill training wheels?

Options

Good morning guys,

I've been playing this game since about September 2019, not sure how many hours in total but I'm a bit over level 5 devotion, for context.

I've played around with perks constantly and I never run any metas, but the one perk I've 100% never pulled out of my build is Spine Chill. My biggest weakness in the game is directional awareness, so I do use it to keep track of the killer approaching me as I'm bad at determining where they're coming from (unless they're in a complete dead zone, obviously).

I was wondering if anybody had tips for training myself to get comfortable without this perk? I want to free up a slot for other things and not have to rely on this to cover my weakness anymore.

Comments

• Trashmaster
    Trashmaster Member Posts: 357
    Options

Equip object instead, you'll be the most hated ######### around but it is a whole lot more powerful than spinechill

• chieften333
    chieften333 Member Posts: 1,554
    edited January 2021
    Options

Just equip another perk, you'll eventually get used to not using it.

Trust me, the game will be better for it, as well as more intense.

• Bwsted
    Bwsted Member Posts: 3,452
    Options

The perk doesn't tell you from what direction they're approaching.

To answer your question:

• position yourself to have better field of view when working your gens.
    • turn your camera around to check your surroundings and especially line-of-sight blockers that could be used for a sneaky approach.
    • use your hears for sound cues. Every killer has some.
    • pay attention to the hud to see if a teammate is being chased or ceases to be chased (health status change, obsession indicator).

To smooth the transition, you can replace the perk with Bond.

• SocialDistomancy
    SocialDistomancy Member Posts: 1,319
    edited January 2021
    Options