We deployed a fix to solve an issue preventing players from unhooking, healing or picking up Survivors. Players will need to reboot to see the change reflected in-game. Thank you for your patience!

Player names

I'm trying to remember something from awhile ago...

I seem to recall that when I started playing DbD, that as you stood around the campfire as a survivor, you used to be able to see the killer... or am I losing my mind?

Anyway, regarding the topic title... Why is it the Killer is able to see Survivor names but not vice versa? I keep seeing salty survivor vids on YT where they're saying the killer is stream sniping them. (Which makes no sense due to most streaming sites having a 20-40+s delay).

Wouldn't it make sense to err on the side of caution and just not have the killer see player names? Because you know there's no way people are gonna stop putting TTV or YT on their names.

Comments

• Pulsar
    Pulsar Member Posts: 20,775

I wouldn't mind it.

It'd remove my ability to see when my fan club is in the game with me, so I couldn't dodge them but I guess that's a small thing.

A lot of the bad snipers use cheating software to snipe too, so that wouldn't really help at all in those cases.

• Xyvielia
    Xyvielia Member Posts: 2,415

Console players have a tendency to get shafted due to names, as they cannot change it whenever they want w/o paying.

Survivors leave when they see names of players in lobby that they don’t want to play with, for whatever reason (personal vendetta, had a bad match, DC’s, possible SWF they don’t want to be paired with, etc.)... and killers do exactly the same, or at least have the ability to leave at the sight of potentially unappealing matches connected to names.

Just remove the names, altogether.

They don’t need to be there;

aside from often: some trope, or attempt at colorful humor to stand out or send a message.