Hitboxes Are Still A Problem...

iifreyja123
iifreyja123 Member Posts: 5
edited May 2022 in General Discussions

Good afternoon everyone! This might be a lengthy post so please bare with me.

I have been playing DBD since around 2016 on my brother's PC but got my own game in 2017, around when it was available for the Xbox. I always enjoyed the game in a way I haven't enjoyed other games. I was always following the release of new killers/survivors, and eagerly waiting for the next updates

However, somewhere between this time, hitboxes became a big issue for me and made the game less enjoyable. Sure, some of it can be rooted to bad ping and connection, which I thought was on my end when crossplay was introduced. I since switched to PC since my console was just not doing it for me (bad resolution/saturdation from my TV, FOV, etc). However, the clear resolution on my PC only highlights the disparity of the current hitbox system.

I'll perform a 360 and still get smacked when I'm behind the killer and the blade goes right past me (noticeable specifically with Oni and his downwards blade swing). I'll get smacked by hatchets when I'm well behind a wall, or crouching behind something like a crate. I can see my character's blood splatter in mid-air, especially when running sideways trying to dodge hatches. In characters like Claudette or Feng, it's very surprising to see my hitbox is still the size of a character like David or Tapp.

That being said, this has been an issue for awhile now and I remember people in the community talking about it years ago, but the devs have done nothing to fix it and slowly I saw the complaints die out. I think a big reason why people don't find this game enjoyable, and why it has much less players than before (there was an almost 20,000 player drop since September of 2021), is because of the hitboxes and matchmaking, as well as other core issues.