The Dead by Daylight team would like your feedback in a Player Satisfaction survey! https://dbd.game/4dbgMEM

FNAF DLC will ruin DBD!

Disclaimer: I have nothing against the FNAF franchise itself.

Introduction

I am concerned that this DLC crossover could lead to younger players accessing content that is not appropriate for their age group and ruining the game for the existing players in this community. I know there is a lot of text here but please hear me out!

Intended Audiences

As a primary school teacher, I have observed that many of my younger, more immature students are avid fans of FNAF. This game, while undeniably popular and influential, tends to attract a younger audience. From my experience, it's rare to meet an adult who plays FNAF; it is predominantly a game enjoyed by children. One of my year 6 students addressed this concern to me stating, "That's stupid it's an R18 game and they're literally asking us to play it by adding FNAF!" That's the voice of an 11 year old child.

Dead by Daylight is rated R18 and is designed for an adult audience. Its themes and gameplay are more suited to mature players who can handle its intense horror elements and mechanics. Incorporating FNAF DLC could potentially blur this distinction and bring in a younger audience that isn't ideally suited for the mature content and interactions within the DBD community.

Game Ratings

As someone who has prev. worked at EB Games, I understand that parents are ultimately responsible for guiding their children's gaming choices and setting boundaries. However, in reality, many parents do not always enforce these rules or are unaware of the content their children are accessing. Additionally, children often have easy ways to bypass age restrictions and deceive online platforms about their true age. This makes it all too simple for younger players to access games that are not suitable for them, despite age ratings and parental advisories.

Interactions in the Community