"Gen Rushing"?

Options

Out of mostly curiosity, what the hell actually is gen rushing? From what I understand it's when survivors complete gens in rapid succession, like they finish one and go onto another. Is that right or is there more to it? Can someone explain? You'd think I'd know the right terminology since I've been playing for about two years smh.

Comments

• Dead_by_Gadfly
    Dead_by_Gadfly Member Posts: 3,772
    Options

4 survivors split up on 4 gens at the beginning. Theyll have 3 done not to ling after you get your first hook. Then they stack to get the last 2 done. Done properly with a coordinated team theres very very little the killer can do to stop it. They dont care about injuries or just about anything else. Theyll even let that first person go into a second hook stage. They are all 100% focused on gens. If this sounds stupid or if you start to think you can counter it, dont bother. Depip squad already proved over and over again youre screwed

• MadLordJack
    MadLordJack Member Posts: 8,814
    edited August 2020
    Options

Mostly, "genrush" is more a way the game and out than an actual tactic. If the killer doesn't snowball map pressure in the very early game, then them gens be pretty much done before they've even began repairing. A lot of killers complain about getting "genrushed", and to an extent it's actually a solid complaint - 4 minute gens/6 minute match times isn't fun for anyone.

But actual "genrushing" is when you get teams coming in with toolboxes, BNP and Prove Thyself and absolute slamming gens like there's a $10,000 prize for quickest depip. Who needs 4 minute gens when 2.5 minutes is enough, right people?

• ShrimpTwiggs
    ShrimpTwiggs Member Posts: 1,181
    Options

When survivors do their objective as efficiently as possible.

• PigMainClaudette
    PigMainClaudette Member Posts: 3,842
    Options