The Dead by Daylight team would like your feedback in a Player Satisfaction survey! https://dbd.game/4dbgMEM

Why don't consoles participate in PTB?

I'm not sure why it hasn't changed especially with the success of simultaneous release across all platforms.
There are many differences that affect consoles game play differently. 
Thoughts? 

Best Answer

• splatvybz
    splatvybz Member Posts: 25
    Answer ✓

As a game dev myself....the answer is simply that updates and patches can be implemented and tested quicker on PC than it can on almost any console (the Nintendo Switch has so far been very dev friendly though, but still easier on PC).

Answers

• Lowbei
    Lowbei Member Posts: 2,637
    not that we dont love our console pals, but setting up the temp software changes on console is far more time consuming than pc. pc is generally a great testing environment.

by the way, what differences in your opinion affects gameplay on console?
  • slingshotsurvivor
    slingshotsurvivor Member Posts: 943
    edited October 2018
    Considering the release rate (quarterly I believe), player base and impacts I don't buy it. Essentially this game, at least for the foreseeable future, will always be testing and releasing something.

e.g. Recently (thank you Devs for the change in the latest release) you couldn't heal while near a pallet. Instead one would end up dropping a pallet either on themselves or on whomever they were healing near it. Didn't happen on PC.

Also, bugs that don't appear to affect PC but console users happen pretty frequently.

My strongest argument would be that they are different. That's the whole premise of testing to begin with.

Edit: words, grammar & spacing
    Post edited by slingshotsurvivor on
  • feffrey
    feffrey Member Posts: 886
    Considering the release rate (quarterly I believe), player base and impacts I don't buy it. Essentially this game, at least for the foreseeable future, will always be testing and releasing something.