Gen regression/defense is EXTREMELY outdated

Options
TheMonadoBoi
TheMonadoBoi Member Posts: 345
edited October 2020 in Feedback and Suggestions

I'll start by giving some context and justifying the current design for base gen defence before going into my points. I started playing nearly 4 years ago, when even the most skilled survivors still weren't nearly as optimal as top percentage are these days. I remember I used to rely heavily on infinites and optimising a TL wall and the like was much less known of. Whenever survivors got injured or unhooked, they usually tried to get somewhere safe to heal and get back in the game. We also had Ruin, which helped massively give everyone another objective, and I clearly remember me and my friends had a designated Ruin person every match. In these times, killers had time to kick a gen and expect to get decent regression on it; most survivors wouldn't even go out of their way in a chase just to tap a gen, we just all weren't as sweaty as we are now.

Now let's get back to 2020 where everyone who's not a complete noob at the game knows safe tiles, fast vaults and optimising pallets in the game. There is absolutely NO point to kicking a gen unless you have PGTW/Surveillance/ ToT since you gain no real benefit from it. It is nearly impossible in the current state of the game that NO ONE will touch a gen that is 50% done in the span of TWO whole minutes. That's a quarter of what top ranks games last, and when survivors are all constantly working on a different generator unless they're being chased, it becomes absolutely ridiculous how pointless kicking a gen is. And I think there's two main issues that can be solved to give every killer a chance to defend gens, instead of having to rely on perks as they always do.