What happened to chapter based cosmetic sets?

gibblywibblywoo
gibblywibblywoo Member Posts: 3,772
edited November 2020 in General Discussions

I remember when the store launched around the time of Clown the devs said we'd be getting themed sets for survivors and killers based around the theme of the chapter. And we did, for a while. I remember the Circus and Feudal style Japan ones. But it seems like they just disappeared after a while. And now we occasionally get a sort of random one like the ancient greece one a while back.

Was there a reason for this not continuing?

Comments

• WestX
    WestX Member Posts: 120

I'm new to the game, what the hell are some of those like the Cube and Props?

• gibblywibblywoo

I still remember seeing that as a "up next" on one of the weekly streams. Waited two years for the bubba buff. It was worth it in the end I guess.

• Madjura
    Madjura Member Posts: 2,444

Cube was what reworks were originally called. Except for Wraith, there it was called Trapezohedron for some reason. The first cube was I believe the Victory Cube, which changed the pip system from being based on bloodpoints (yes that was a thing) to I believe number of kills and escaping, before it was changed to the emblem system.

The Props system still exists but is completely useless. After the game you can click on players on the scoreboard, which opens the report menu, but the left-most option lets you make a "positive report", kind of like in Overwatch for example. For a short while the players who have gotten the most props were mentioned during the devstreams (which by the way are also more or less dead, at least in the original format) but that was stopped because supposedly people were farming the props or something. They might still be tracked, but they haven't been used for anything in forever.

• gibblywibblywoo
    edited November 2020