This community is wearing me out...

I've been playing DBD for a few years now. I got in on PS+ but never played it until after Oni came out. Bubba was my first main. Old Bubba. It went as well as you might think. I've seen DS when you can do a gen for 60 secs with immunity, classic DS-UB/Small PP build, Surge/Jolt couldn't hit gens already regressing, original Rundying, Freddy being stupidly strong and braindead---I've been around for a while.

But over these years, the community has continued to wear me out more as time goes on.

Terrible Experiences

I have been told to unalive myself, specifically by burning myself alive because I simply played a killer the person disliked. Nothing more, just playing someone they disliked. I have an opinion they don't like? I'm now a "c----sucking f---" Joining this are various messages filled with calling me slurs, alongside other insults both typical of DBD (tunneller, camper, etc) and downright childish (trash).

"Just ignore it"

Sound simple, doesn't it? Sorry, but I find it hard to overlook there are people out there telling me to end my life simply because they're mad at a video game. It's not simply one person who acts like this either. If it was, it'd just be an easy report and I hope I can forget about it.

"Turn off messages"

I did. By then the damage had been done, but I did do it.... but then I started getting friend requests from the likes of "trashtunneller." I'm on console btw, where name changes aren't free. People are actually paying money to do this.

Disable friend requests too? What's the point then? Why not just play a single-player game? I like talking to people. I want to make friends with them! I met some of my friends through dbd. It's just sad, because I played CoD back in the day and even that wasn't this bad, at least in my personal experiences.

Lack of Empathy and entitlement