The First Timer's Experience

Zefier
Zefier Member Posts: 23

So, I just started playing Dead by Daylight the other day. I've been watching a couple channels like TydeTyme, Monto and no0b3. I decided I wanted to play killer as a main and decided I liked the looks of Legion. (This was, before, I knew how bad the hate for the killer was.)

I've had my first few matches and, boy, the difficulty variety is on two sides of an extreme; Either I'm up against a survivor team that rushes down Gens so fast and want to bully me into submission or the survivor team is utterly braindead. I haven't found a match I could call as a healthy middleground.

My first two Legion matches I did okay, killed two survivors first match. All four the next one (One of those braindead matches I was talking about as everyone was WAY too altruistic).

After that began the great drought, lots of matches where all four survivors got away on me. The toxicity really spiked here, a lot of people stutter stepping in my line of sight, purposefully taunting and T-bagging in front of me, which at first I was like "Eh, they must realize I'm new and are rubbing it in." I'm only rank 19 after all.

Until the post game chat, where I get bombarded with "That's what you get for playing Legion!"

Oops...?

It's a bit of a shame because I love Legion's aesthetic (I loved the Hunter in Left 4 Dead for the same hoody aesthetic), but I do know why he's hated for what he does to the game both for killers and survivors alike. I haven't gotten to the point where I dislike playing them, probably because I have a lot to learn, a lot of skills to build on and maps to learn, but boy does the rampant bullying suuuuck.

So, one of my dailies was Trapper. I figured I'd give Legion a break after getting them to level 10, and try the daily. In almost a full 180, it was right back to the braindead teams, it was like people thought I was blind or something.