People loved/hate Legion for the wrong reasons.

I started playing killer only 1 or 2 months ago. Since then, I've seen a little success with The Trapper, The Cannibal, The Shape, and The Spirit, but I've seen, comparatively, mountains of success with the Legion. I was a hardcore survivor main before this, of maybe 3 or 4 months, so i knew plenty of what survivors typically do during chases/downtime/etc. And since i started playing killer I've maintained a decent 2-3k pretty consistently.

But every now and then, and especially at the start, I'd look up Legion game play, Tips & Tricks, stats, anything to do better as them I'd soak up. Nearly every piece of advice or strategy about legion is filled with talk about how much worse they are now, how they used to be way more fun, etc. And I just don't get it.

In the old Legion, before the rework, you got rewarded for abusing game mechanics in ways the Devs didn't intend for. But assuming you played how they did intend, Legion basically took away survivors only tools of escape. The speed debuff wasn't really helpful, because if you found someone, they were going to go down. You also had a pseudo-Mad Grit effect when in frenzy, rewarding button mashing as opposed to decently timed hits. It was almost brainless in a way, and this isn't even accounting for how easy it was IF you abused the game mechanics.

But as they reworked Legion with the 2 big patches and even the coming QOL change, it became more about honing what Legion is good at to get your downs. Legion is the best at spreading injuries, no one is gonna contest that, but now hes better suited at Frenzying for injuries and information, and worse at downing in Frenzy. You can't button mash to get a down, you can't abuse pretty much any mechanics as badly as before if not at all, and what I think is most important, You don't take away a survivors ability to escape.