Dead by Daylight should no longer be affected by an outage. Players logging into the game between September 26 3PM ET and September 28th 3PM ET will receive 1M Bloodpoints as compensation.

Barrier to entry

JustCats
JustCats Member Posts: 298

Hi guys, new aspiring serial killer here. I want to love this game. I've put a number of hours (and dollars, ugh) into it, and though I'm nowhere near a veteran at level 45 and a rank of green 10, I've got enough time to confidently say I'm a committed beginner.

That said, this game makes it freaking HARD on someone just starting out. I'm not talking about gameplay, learning about looping, 3 genning, etc, I'm talking about just having the resources to have fun playing in the first place. I'm not so much complaining about the matchmaking (even though it's rough going against a prestiged red rank 1 and their 3 friends they convinced to play virtually every killer game) it's about the fact that I'm severely disadvantaged by game design before I even get a chance to try and compete against naturally superior players.

Now, I'm not new to gaming and I'm not new to grinding, but this is just absurd. It wouldn't be an issue if I were matched up against similar level players going through the same grind, but I never am. It's not just an odd game here or there, I am always against at least one or two survivors with a full suite of rank 3 optimized builds. Usually when joining a game like this late, I just commit to one class/character and grind them to a competitive level, but here I can't. I HAVE to thin out my attention to multiple killers to unlock teachables, so it's a tremendous amount of playing sub-15 killers with 1-3 base perks versus the pro swf team I'm invariably matched with.

It is 100% demoralizing to have at least one person just trying to use that advantage to meme on you every game.