New player: Why is matchmaking so horrible?

Im pretty new to the game, (only have about 30ish hours) but it is kind of insane the matches I am being set up with. I main huntress who is already a hard killer as is but I keep getting put against reds and purples and I just hit 16. This is insane as I am able to get two hooks max as they usually rush gens and flashlight spam me anytime I attempt to throw. It is kind of hard for me to get better at the game when this is all I get. Is this just how matchmaking is like once you get out of 20?

Comments

• OniWantsYourMacaroni
    OniWantsYourMacaroni Member Posts: 5,944

Yeah,this happens very often unfortunately.

The devs are working on a new MMR right now so hopefully that will fix this issue

• Bumbus
    Bumbus Member Posts: 600

Yep, it looks the same on rank 4. Matchmaking sucks right now, wait for MMR to be implemented.

• finitethrills
    finitethrills Member Posts: 617

Matchmaking has always been horrendous. Not sure if mmr is really going to make it better.

I would recommend putting in lots of hours with m1 killers to get really good at chasing basics and mindgaming before settling in to main someone like huntress. Being forced to progress chases "naturally" will improve your game in every direction. I can't really say 100% that mining huntress will hold you back by virtue of having projectiles to cover for poor chase production, but it's a risk.

• UMCorian
    UMCorian Member Posts: 531
    edited November 2020

Yeah, it's real bad depending on what day/time you are queuing.

IMHO, there is an extreme drought of High Rank killers in DBD that play in North America during weekday evenings on PC... so they'll frequently throw any killer who queues up against Red Ranked Survivors who've been waiting 5-10 minutes.