Noob seeking Advice: Post game bullying messages

Options

Hi there

I'm actually a bit nervous to post this, but I'll try anyways.

I just bought this game for PS4. A friend showed it to me and it seemed like something I'd really like so I thought I'd give it a go. I'm trying to play Spirit, but of course I'm not that good at it yet. Some maps are easier for me than others. Sometimes I struggle a bit with the first person view, but I was having fun trying.

I find the matchmaking system very confusing. When I'm matched with people at my low rank, I fare ok because we're all new and figuring things out. But for some reason, every second game when I look at the post-match ranks, I've been playing with people in green or purple ranks which are far above me (lvl 19). Thing is, I don't really care if I don't get kills at this point b/c I'm just derping around trying to learn.

But whenever I face these higher ranks, I've started getting really unpleasant messages afterwards. Basically making fun of how bad I am at the game. It's shocking to me, because you'd think they could see from my rank that I'm new. As well, it's a pain in the ass to type out messages on the PS4. Why would anyone even go to such trouble to do this? The first message or two I just blocked them. A third one I actually asked this person what possesses them to send nasty messages to new players, and he replied; "lmao I only send them to people on PS4" (what? Why? Am I missing something?).

I've had a difficult year, and I just wanted a game I could immerse myself in to distract me from real life crap. The messages are starting to turn me off the game entirely and I've only tried playing this Killer for 2 days. I find I'm hesitating even trying today because I don't want to deal it.