How do I ditch a killer who has already spotted me?

I am new to the game, and it seems like when I play a survivor, its absolutely impossible to ditch the killer once they find me. I would think there would be a way to get out of their vision, or to duck and hide in the bushes or around a corner. Am I missing something, or are you pretty much caught as soon as the killer targets you? I have seen people run around, but never actually ditch the killer once they are on their tail.

Comments

• HaunterofShadows
    HaunterofShadows Member Posts: 4,092

sometimes if you run the killer long enough they'll jump off you because your wasting their time. I personally I have a build set up on losing killers. you'll want to use your environment to your advantage try to confuse the killer. scratch marks are also very important if a killer loses those or the scratch marks lose you the killer will likely be lost and have to search for another survivor. Losing the killer is a very delicate art which is why there are perks to help with it.

• Laluzi
    Laluzi Member Posts: 6,059
    edited June 2021

Ditching the killer is pretty dependent on the killer themselves - some are going to be more committed than others, and some are going to be easier to pull visual tricks on than others. The important thing to know is that you leave bright red scratchmarks while running and the killer can see these or hear your sounds, especially when you're injured. So as long as you run, the killer can see where you've been... unless you make your scratch marks themselves confusing, like running in a complete loop around a walled structure, then doubling back the way you came or walking around a corner and slipping away. As long as the killer doesn't physically see you leave, they'll likely keep chasing the scratch marks in a circle for a while.