Explaining why Stun Validation looks weird, but makes sense, on a technical level.

Mercês
Mercês Member Posts: 376
edited August 2021 in General Discussions

"Stun validation has been added to the hit validator. If a Killer has a pending stun on the server, the server will reject the hit. This will be most noticeably in situations such as a Killer who is attacking at the same time a survivor is throwing a pallet, and it should reduce instances where survivors appear to take damage after stunning a Killer."

I work in the field, so let me explain on a technical level why it looks so weird but why this change is necessary.

The most awkward situations happen when:

-----------------------

FIRST SCENARIO. KILLER HAS A LOW PING, BUT ATTACKS ALMOST AT THE SAME TIME.

(*) The server queue look like this.

[Survivor A] [13:32:12:14] [Pallet drop] [Location X] (*1)
(Outcome) [Killer] [Status update] [Stun]
[Killer] [13:32:12:18] [Hit register] [Survivor A] (*2)

I'm supposing that killer's ping is 20ms, while survivors' is 30ms.

(*) The survivor perspective look like this.

[Survivor] [13:32:11:44] [Pallet drop] [Location X] 

Note that survivor (in real time) dropped the pallet at [13:32:11:44], with the 30ms delay, the server received that the Survivor dropped the pallet at [13:32:12:14] (*1).

(*) The killer queue look like this.

[Killer] [13:32:11:58] [Hit register] [Survivor A] 
[Survivor] [13:32:12:48] [Pallet drop] [Location X] 

Note that the killer hit the survivor at [13:32:11:28], with the 20ms delay, the server received that the killer hit the survivor at [13:32:12:18] (*2).

In the other hand, notice that the killer received that the pallet was dropped at [13:32:12:48], 50ms after the actual drop, because the server has to receive this input from the survivor (+30ms), and send to the killer(+20ms).

Notice that more extreme scenarios can happen if the killer has a higher ping than survivor but hits before the stun.