Dead By Daylight Doxxing Issue

GoodBoyKaru
GoodBoyKaru Member Posts: 22,767
edited November 2021 in General Discussions

Allow me to preface this by saying I am not a cybersecurity expert, nor do I pretend to be. This is based off of my own knowledge around the subject, and if I get something wrong please correct me as this is about player safety.

This is in no way a comprehensive guide, but basic tips you can (usually) easily follow to help protect yourself online.

intro

So, for people who don't know, DBD currently has a security flaw allowing people to track the IP addresses of people they match with, and with that IP address are able to track down personal information (doxxing) or DDOS attack (Distributed Denial of Service attack- where lots of packets of data are sent to the router all at once, causing it to overload and in some cases fry completely) you. This flaw was discovered on the PTB, however can be exploited on live servers too.

Don't believe me? Streamers, especially large streamers, have been getting DDOS attacks incredibly frequently, from Paulie to Otz, and streamer Elix has been swatted live on her stream. DDOS attacks cause your router to slow down drastically, and often kick all devices off of the router.

While waiting for an official statement on this, hopefully along with some upgraded security, here's some things you can do to help prevent this happening, and what to do in case it does happen.

EDIT: We have an official statement from BHVR, as confirmed by @MandyTalk:

Source

what to do

So, on a PC there's one main thing you can do.

Invest in a VPN