The Dead by Daylight team would like your feedback in a Player Satisfaction survey! https://dbd.game/4dbgMEM

Is this game even a horror game?

To be honest, I initially bought the game because I really liked the idea being hunted by your favorite horror character. When I started playing about 1.5 years ago, I felt the game was really intense. However, by getting even more experienced in the game I lost all the stress and fear during playtime. What I feel now is frustration, anger and disappointment. Playing survvior is not horryfying at all (as survivors tend to make fun of the killers) and the escape chance is huge. Playing killer is problematic and it sometimes can be satisfying (when punishing toxic survivors).
I think that something needs to be done to make the killer have the upper hand in order for the game to be a real horror game.

Comments

• vampire_toothy
    vampire_toothy Member Posts: 381

This isn't really the fault of the game, it's just the players as they get used to it. As you stated, the game felt really intense when you first got it, correct? In that sense the game did its job right, the problem is that players get used to this game and becomes less of being worried (unless you create challenges for yourself) and more being absolutely focused on achieving your ingame goals because it becomes easier to do with experience, you become more effective at it too.

I feel like the best thing they could do (in my opinion) is add more modes that are in a random cycle for normal games so that people don't get as used to doing the same exact objectives all the time and absolutely always have to adapt to the new playstyles rather than just sometimes having to do so if a new killer comes around. Just my opinion here.

• lasombra1979
    lasombra1979 Member Posts: 1,142