Shouldn't this game be scary for survivors?

Options

Let me begin by saying that I'm super new at this game (about a week), but so far, not only this game is not scary at all for me as a survivor, it seems that 90% of the time it isn't scary for the survivors when I am the killer.

I would love that the game felt like a horror survival rather than a chase and run game. 

The killer part of the game is fine, kinda. Could improve, but it's fine. The survivor part, however, needs some kind of change. As I said, I'm pretty new to the game, so I'm not sure if I came with the wrong set of impressions and expectations for this game, or if it's really a problem other players experience. I just don't see it normal at all that survivors can just swarm around the killer, or teabagging in front of the killer, and so on. Thematically it makes 0 sense. 

If I'm playing as a survivor, I want to feel scared that the killer is an actual threat, and that I have to run and hide well to survive. I've seen several videos on youtube of the game, and in most of them, if the youtubes is the survivor, they are just basically trolling the killer, and if they are the killer (and it's not a "cool" killing montage) the survivors are just moving around as if the killer wasn't even a danger. When I'm playing as the survivor things aren't too different. I have so much information about where the killer is most of the times that hiding becomes really easy, and even doing tasks like repairing a generator is just a matter of hitting the skill check in time while i keep my eye on the killer, which is not only not boring but also easy. Actually, in all my games as survivor, I've escaped unless I get hooked once, where I keep trying to escape from the hook to know if it's actually possible hhahaha (and even then there's a high chsnce of winning after that)