The Dead by Daylight team would like your feedback in a Player Satisfaction survey! https://dbd.game/4dbgMEM

SWF and it's current impact on DBD

Below is simply my own opinion on the current state of DbD. I am not intending it to be a negative post and in fact only want to see this game improve. I have been playing this game as both killer and survivor for little under 600 hours now and to some that will be a lot and to others not so much, and that's fine. I'm simply highlighting that I have some decent experience with the game at this point. Also let me say right away that I am not against SWF but I do feel that it has resulted in some issues for DBD.

To my knowledge the dev's themselves have said that the game was origonally designed around survivors having no way to communicate other than gestures. I believe I read somewhere that this was to enhance the atmosphere of the game more. As far as I understand it, they then realised that it didn't make sense in the long run to have an online multiplayer game that people could not join with their friends and so rather than re-work the core gameplay to fit the inclusion of SWF, the just added it as is. in my opinion, since this decision, the game has become almost impossibe to balance successfully and as a result on average feels much more frustrating to play than it needs to be for both killer and survivor.

The inclusion of this gamemode changes how the core gameplay of DBD is approached. For example, a number of perks were made redundant (for both killer and survivor). Just to name a few:

Perks like Bond/Empathy are not needed to keep track of your teammates locations when you already have voice chat.

Likewise perks like Premonition/Spine Tingle are not needed because team can keep you posted on current killer location.

Killer perks designed to make it harder for survivors to locate each other are made useless, such as Knockout/The 3rd Seal.