Dead by Daylight should no longer be affected by an outage. Players logging into the game between September 26 3PM ET and September 28th 3PM ET will receive 1M Bloodpoints as compensation.

Anyone else feel like dbd's identity is all over the place right now?

I've been playing this game for around 3 years now, just after the Halloween DLC was added, and I strongly feel like identity of the game has been getting weaker over time. Let me explain what I mean by this.

Behold, Dwight. Just by looking at him you can tell his character architype is a nerdy, anti-social dweeb who has spent almost as much time inside lockers in highschool as he has inside the trials of the game. He has great, recognisable characterisation that you can pick up on just by looking at him. Several of his cosmetics also reflect this.

Because of how strong the characterization is in his default outfit, it's completely believable that someone like Dwight would take on a menial job like delivering pizza or being a mall elf. He isn't just wearing a neat looking outfit for the sake of it. His character is being respected and expanded without sacrificing the integrity of the game world. Even though Dwight probably would not wear the latter of the 2 outfits canonically, since it produces a lot of noise, it is believable that he would have worn it at some point in his life.

Which brings me to...Jane.

What can you tell about her character just by looking at her? What is her personality like? Is she social, popular, a loner? There's so little information you can get from her design compared to Dwight's. She has no clear architype, no obvious hints as to who she is as a person. You can assume what she's like based on your own personal experience with people. But that is not nearly as informative as knowing almost everything about her personality just from a glance. Jane suffers from a lack of intuitive character design and a lot her cosmetics are a perfect reflection of this.