The Dead by Daylight team would like your feedback in a Player Satisfaction survey! https://dbd.game/4dbgMEM

Why is it difficult to remove perk tiers?

fogdonkey
fogdonkey Member Posts: 1,567

During the Q&A they said that it is difficult to remove perk tiers. Why?

Also they mentioned that it would not be a good long term solution, because the grind is increasing exponentially with new DLCs.

I agree that it is not a good long term solution, but it would be a good intermediate solution.

And a sidenote: the grind is increasing quadratically, not exponentially (with DLC releases).

Comments

• Sonzaishinai
    Sonzaishinai Member Posts: 7,976

Probably because it's too integraded in the game's system.

I'm not an expert on it but i'm sure it's not just a case of ctrl clicking all the tier 1 and 2 perks and hitting delete.

• Aven_Fallen
    Aven_Fallen Member Posts: 16,046

As they said, it would be a band-aid fix. Something which the Community criticises the Devs for.

And, for me personally, removing Perk Tiers would remove a lot of excitement for new players. When I was new, getting Perks was the most exciting thing when leveling up my Characters. And if you remove Perk Tiers, you would run out of new Perks before you even have 4 Perk Slots unlocked.

So they should rather look at other solutions.

But I know the community will not understand it that the Devs dont want to remove Perk Tiers and will keep asking for it.

• fogdonkey

You have a little flaw in your calculation, you forget that the new perks need to be unlocked on old killers.

Currently there are 26 killers and 90 killer perks (26*3 unique ones and 12 generic).

So to unlock all the perks on 3rd tier on all the killers you need to go through 26*90*3=7020 perk buys.

If they would remove perk tiers the killer grind would reach the current levels at 46 killers:

46 killers would mean 150 killer perks which would need 46*150=6900 perk buys.