'DBD isn't a horror game'

Comments

• Archael
    Archael Member Posts: 815

What is important is not where character came from, but what character represents and how it fits.

Lich fits horror game even if came from DND.

Murderous mastermind fits horror theme even if came from teenage mutant ninja comic (shredder), turtles would not fit survivors tho.

• BubMickey07
    BubMickey07 Member Posts: 312

It IS a horror game people don't see it as horror because it isn't scary because they've played all there is TOO play

Like yeah the unknown is spooky but going against him 100 times is obviously not gonna be scary anymore.. look at new players they get scared at everything lmao

People that always say "but Nicholas cage" "but d&d" you can have these things at it still be scary? Infact most horror movies try to have a lighter tone so when the killer shows up its actually scary like dbd is doing.

But idk I'm not a doctor

• Caiman
    Caiman Member Posts: 2,582

DbD is a game made to play with horror themes, and the horror theme should be respected. I don't mind an evil undead wizard torturing people with black magic, because magic and fantasy can be very horrifying. "Curse of Strahd" is basically Dracula in DnD and it's one of the most well-known and popular DnD modules for a reason. It can work, and a dark and dingy dungeon filled with arcane secrets and bloody torture rooms is a fine fit for DbD.

However, I will agree that Vecna looks really lame. I was expecting a skeleton or a gnarled corpse or something that actually evoked the menace of an unnatural undying evil that bends life and reality to its cruel whims. Instead he looks like a cartoon character. He looks like a villain from a low-level World of Warcraft sidequest. Doesn't help that of all the spells they could give him, none actually feel like necromancy, and they're all really underwhelming in their implementation.

• crogers271
    crogers271 Member Posts: 1,723