The philosophy of balancing DbD.

Options

Hi everyone,

My name's Bonefish and I've been playing DbD since 2016. I haven't interacted much with the community as a whole and am primarily a killer main. Other than this though, I am a professional fighting game player and thought I would bring some of that perspective into this. Through my time on DbD, I've noticed that BHVR seems to struggle with balance, which is understandable as asymmetric games tend to be more on the difficult side to balance. But here's a suggestion.

Hire people who play DbD alot at a high level to do your play-testing. I'm sure many of them would more than happily do it for free. You also have to weed out people with biased one side or the other mentalities as we're all here to have fun in the end, regardless of what role we play.

I don't think PTB is honestly a good answer (as a solo solution) as the data collected can be skewed when all you look at is hard numbers. You can't account for what happened in the actual games and if people were playing optimally. Numbers are a great compass of course, but should only make up half of the process of determining changes for both survivors and killers alike.

Now here's where the conversation gets controversial, but I think is a pretty objective statement when you look at any game striving for actual balance with competitive players who care.

"Most people's feedback on stuff DOESN'T matter and is actually hurtful to actual balance."

And I think this extends all the way to rank 1 even. You have to value the feedback of a small pool of trusted players who play at an actual high level on both survivor and killer sides. When you take low-rank players into consideration it poisons the perceived reality of what is balanced and what isn't and creates a false reality.