Why is Looping a Big Deal?

Options
MousyBousy
MousyBousy Member Posts: 8
edited June 2019 in General Discussions

Note: This is a genuine question that I want to dig deep into and friendly work out the pros and cons about. If I’m in any way condescending, I apologize. Honestly, not trying to start a fight.

Yes, I am a noob. I downloaded the game today, spent an hour reading the manuals, then jumped into gameplay for probably six hours straight. The game’s just got me hooked (get it? Sorry I’ll exit-).

But I do know that the community has a somewhat controversial view on looping, the same for tunneling and those dirty tactics. I’m confused on why looping is such a big problem with the killers however; it’s fairly easy to counteract it.

You can simply pretend like you fell bait and go over there, but then quickly turn around and go back. They vault right into your waiting arms, and from experience in the few rounds I’ve played, they do this often. Seriously. I got my first kill because of it; he kept trying to loop me but I would always backtrack halfway through and get him. I even have video footage.

With this in mind, it’s also a possibility to give up on them. I know, it’s our duty as killers to hang up those little sneakers... but if you need to choose between gens being fixed or trying to get the survivor, well, usually the gens are a higher priority, aren’t they?

So again, sorry if it seems like I’m acting like a know-it-all, but I’m genuinely baffled on why the community feels that looping is a toxic strategy they hate with a passion. (Well... Yes, it is toxic, but point is that you can easily counter-act it, can you not?)

————

Original: