How can we fix Deathslinger?

Options
Zayn
Zayn Member Posts: 365
edited November 2020 in Feedback and Suggestions

It's common knowledge that Slinger is extremely unfun to go against. Most Slinger's run monitor and abuse so even if you're aware of your surroundings, you'll usually get shot before you even know he's there. Pair this with maps in the game such as Midwich and the Saloon and at most loops, he's able to shoot survivors over them and get easy downs multiple times.

Slinger mains will say that he's fair since he has zero map pressure but what they all seem to conveniently disregard is the fact that map pressure can come quick by getting downs.

You down a survivor -> One other survivor needs to get off gens to save -> Two possible survivors are on gens -> You go to a gen and down another one = two are healing, Another is down and the snowball pressure begins.

Slinger is extremely unfun to play against. I've been playing DBD for almost 3 years and never have we had a killer who can zone with their mere presence like Slinger can unless you count Spirit who can do it at pallet loops where the survivor has nowhere to run to.

Now according to Slinger mains, what are his counters?

"Just dodge his shot and make distance, he'll have to reload and then use his slow movement speed to catch up"

No that doesn't work at high levels of play. It only works against bad slingers who blindly shoot from a distance hoping to get a highlight for their Youtube montage.

"Split up and do gens"

What a great idea! Not like it's the counter to every killer in the game and unfortunately in solo que, I can only do so much as one player, relying on my teammates to do gens efficiently is less common than seeing a Detective Tapp in my lobby.

"Throw pallets earlier"

Sure, until he zones me with his presence resulting in a free shot I can't dodge because of his instant ADS and he reels me around the loop to himself.