The current low killer FOV and it's reliance on perks to be increased.

I, like many others, have been enjoying Dead by Daylight for many years. However, one glaring issue that I always thought would be resolved is the extremely low default field of view that has always brought me a certain level of discomfort.

When deciding on design choices as a developer myself, I try to weigh the pros and cons that a feature like this would bring to the table. In the past, I have heard the idea that the more narrow field of vision the killer experiences is more of a stylized decision geared towards the idea that the killer is supposed to have this sort of "tunnel vision" effect. Meaning, it hones in on the killer being this bloodthirsty beast focused on the horror-esque idea of nothing but catching its prey.

However, I ask the question of whether this is worth the potential user quality of life or if the potential competitive advantages are enough to draw BHVR away from increasing it. Simply giving the user an editable option to change this beyond the very inconvenient choice of switching out the perks you enjoy running for things like Shadowborn or Monitor and Abuse.

Low FOV in many games has been known to give people headaches and nausea beyond the simple factor that playing on the default vision can give this overall restrictive feeling of not being oriented to the current virtual world around you. This is why the majority of PC games that are released to the public provide the option as a slider inside your graphical menu. In fact, it is almost hard to name a well-established PC-developed title that has not provided this option by default.