I shouldn't have to play in a full SWF to ensure my teammates care about winning

This is the only larger PVP game I play where quickplay is the only option. There's no option for more competitive players to play with like-minded players in DbD outside of pre-made groups. It's not fun when teammates are running after the killer with a flashlight at 5 gens, going down instantly because they're trying to meme, looting chests for a tome challenge, etc. It's a bit unfair to expect a portion of the playerbase to go out of their way to make a group if they want to consistently enjoy a game mode. Beyond that, there's nothing to really play for if you're experienced and care about results. Rank 1 doesn't mean anything when you've been playing for years. There's zero sense of player skill progression as a player.

A competitive mode would obviously not be perfect. There are trolls in every game that I've ever played, and I've been playing online games for 20+ years at this point. But it would be better than what we have IMO and give players options. The common refrain is that it would split the playerbase, but you also have the potential to actually grow the playerbase by attracting players who otherwise wouldn't care about DbD. I personally never play unranked/quickplay in games. DbD is the exception for me, and it's not by choice.

Comments

• Unequalmitten86
    Unequalmitten86 Member Posts: 162

You and I fall in the same category here. I have been playing for relatively the same time frame probably longer. I shouldn't have to join a SWF but I play soloq and there is no relying on teammates there. I just started this game and yes I do the Rift but the game objectives come first. I think this update highlights the broken parts of toxic generation of newer gamers relied upon that never entered a COD waiting room. All these answers are just join an SWF.

• DaddyMyers_Mori
    DaddyMyers_Mori Member Posts: 2,205
    edited April 2023