We have temporarily disabled Firecrackers and the Flashbang Perk due to a bug which could cause the Killer's game to crash. These will be re-enabled in an upcoming patch when the issue is resolved.

The state of servers, ping, hit validation, and everything in between... and how to fix it!

Amazedturnip
Amazedturnip Member Posts: 14
edited October 10 in Feedback and Suggestions

First of all, PLEASE upvote this if you are even remotely impacted by the things I mention below, we need visibility on this issue! As a survivor, currently this game is unplayable. I will outline the problem and all straightforward solutions in this post. My perspective exists as a game developer myself, a person with a Master's in Computer Science, and an expert in game networking.

The problems(in order of importance):

• Very far apart servers
  • No maximum personal ping bar
  • Matchmaking is too relaxed with ping(100-150ms is considered acceptable despite 40-70ms alternatives)
  • No animation validation(windows & pallets)
  • No maximum cumulative ping bar(survivor+killer)
  • Server load is easily maxed out at 5 players
  • Server load is not well load balanced between locations(further exasperated by the large distances between them)

The (real and practical) solutions(in order of importance):

• For the US, enable Gamelift servers for California & Ohio, consider finding acceptable solutions for Quebec & Dallas. The infrastructure already exists within the service. There are other scattered servers worldwide that could use this pick me up, especially for Australian players.
  • Add a maximum acceptable ping bar to the games settings